Week 10

11/30/2012

1 Comment

 
I am shocked by my own ignorance of media manipulation and once this was explained to me in the article, "Top ten media manipulation strategies", I could see it clear as day. As a proud American who believes she lives in the best country in the world, I assume naively that my countries leaders would only do what is in my best interest. I do not remember learning critical thinking in my childhood school days and I will make sure my children learn and practice it. I could understand in some situations the government or upper class elite taking actions in which they are trying to avoid maybe something along the lines of mass chaos in the the streets, but I think our social media has gone too far in using our trust in what we are told in the news to lead us into deeper distraction of the truth and ignorance of real situations. I find this information fascinating and will put it to use from now on when I watch
Kelly
12/6/2012 01:19:16 am

I agree that children in younger generations should be required to think critically at one point or another. And I also think that many more people than you think are just as easily manipulated and choose not to let articles like this apply to themselves. I think you worded this nicely!

Reply



Leave a Reply.